Inner Voice III

Balance Your Health

Get rid of the word SHOULD.

Using statements like I should meditate…. solicit guilt, rebelliousness and maybe even shame…Thoughts like “Dammit why didn’t I, I was supposed to!!” soon follow. These shame and fear based thought patterns do not take you to a powerful place, but often undermine motivation and positive intentions/thinking.

Find another word that elicits better responses:

Wish – won’t motivate most people

I would like to – nope won’t bring urgency

I need to – not quite there to bring about action

I want to – getting closer to a commitment

I have to – to authoritarian for most (defensiveness and rebellion follow)

I must – sounds too desperate

I am going to – will work for some.. gives me a way out…

I will – a personal agreement is made…much closer to getting me to do it (I can visualize it and imagine myself doing…

View original post 232 more words

This entry was posted in Recovery by Kevin Brough. Bookmark the permalink.

About Kevin Brough

President VisionLogic Executive Director of Symbiosis Health Systems Program Director at Symbiosis Retreats Subconscious Behaviorist, Clinical Mental Health Counselor, Addictionologist, Certified HypnoTherapist, NLP Master Practitioner - Trainer, Strategic Interventionist, Motivational Interviewing, New DreamWork Method Coach, Emotional Freedom Technique, Yoga/Meditation, Reiki Master

Leave a Reply

